PRESS RELEASE: Roomassaare LoodusInvest leg took the A. Le Coq 60th Moonsund Regatta racing around Abruka island | 11 Jul 17, piret.salmistu

On Monday morning the fleet of 842 participants of the A. Le Coq 60th Moonsund Regatta saluted the sun in Roomassaare. The weather was brilliant and wind playful with the waves. Everyone was excited about the short circle around Abruka Island.  

The biggest boats were to race 20.9 nautical miles and approximately four hours. The other race courses were 18.8 and 15.6 nautical miles for medium and small yachts respectively. The prizes of the Roomassaare circle, glassware by famous Finnish company Iittala, were sponsored by LoodusInvest.

In the biggest boat class, ORC I, competition was fierce between the teams of Olympic (Yacht Club Dago, skipper Tiit Vihul) and Forte, the winner of two previous races (Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Jaak Jõgi). Olympic lead the race until the last mark but then Forte snatched their third victory by four minutes and 42 seconds.

ORC II got to race only after two false starts and effecting the black flag rule. This year the consistent leader in ORC II grup seems to be Amserv Toyota ST with Margus Žuravljov from Kalev Yacht Club. Runners up were My Car and Jazz.

In ORC III the first two podium places were taken by guest teams: Bamby from Russia with Leonid Chizik at the helm and Fart from St. Petersburg (skipper Anatoly Shukanov). Lagle II (skipper Ülari Velviste) from Saaremaa Marine Sports Society came in third.

ESTLYS I left its victory at home: Katarina Jee and Mart Tamme from Saaremaa Marine Sports Society dominated over Tessa and Alar Ivanson from Kalev Yacht Club and Kristaps Remess and Le Mans from Latvia.

The winner in ESTLYS II was from St. Petersburg – yacht Onega and Nikita Brilliantov. Piiska with Ragnar Kõiv at the helm from Kalev Yacht Club came in second and Pinta with Guido Grassi from Saaremaa Marine Sports Society was third.

In ESTLYS III Roomassaare circle was victorious for Kaija from Noblessner Yacht Club with Annika Malva at the helm. Aurora from Haapsalu Yacht Club (skipper Pille Kaas) was second and Diks (skipper Aldis Liepins) from Latvia third.

Folkboots tried to sail as close to Abruka as possible, took many risks and more than one scratched their bottoms too.  All risks paid off to Muinasjutukuningas from Kalev Yacht Club and skipper Jaanus Nõgisto who won the race. Castor from Saaremaa Marine Sports Society (skipper Ott Kolk) was second and Linda from Kalev Yacht Clubs (skipper Pertti Neero) was third.

The evening was entertained by the award ceremony of the last two races after which everyone was left dancing to the pop hits of the 70s and 80s.

The next start will be given on Tuesday morning at 9.00 a.m. Roomassaare - Kihnu leg should enjoy quite some head winds if the forecast is anything to go by.


Winners of the third leg of the A. Le Coq 60th Moonsund Regatta:


I Forte, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Jaak Jõgi

II Olympic, Yacht Club Dago, skipper Tiit Vihul

III Reval Cafe, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Eero Pank



I Amserv Toyota ST, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Margus Zuravljov

II My-Car, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Harles Liiv

III Jazz, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Juss Ojala



I Bamby, Russia, skipper Leonid Chizhik

II Fart, St. Petersburg Yacht Club, skipper Anatoly Shukanov

III Lagle II, Saaremaa Marine Sports Society, skipper Ülari Velviste



I Katarina Jee, Saaremaa Marine Sports Society, skipper Mart Tamm

II Tess, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Alar Ivanson

III Le Mans, Latvia, skipper Kristaps Remess



I Onega, Russia, skipper Nikita Brilliantov

II Piiska, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Ragnar Kõiv

III Pinta, Saaremaa Marine Sports Society, skipper Guido Grass



I Kaija, Noblessner Sailing School, skipper Annika Malva

II Aurora, Haapsalu Yacht Club, skipper Pille Kaas

III Diks, Latvia, skipper Aldis Liepins



I Muinasjutukuningas, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Jaanus Nõgisto

II Castor, Saaremaa Marine Sports Society, skipper Ott Kolk

III Linda, Kalev Yacht Club, skipper Pertti Neero



All results
Kuivastu-Roomassaare gallery - Piret Salmistu / Kalev Yacht Club ja Ardi Truija / Postimees

Kuivastu-Roomassaare winners will be awarded on Monday at 19:00 after the Roomassaare circle around Abruka island, which will be raced at midday.  

The A. Le Coq Moonsund Regatta is organised by Kalev Yacht Club, Pärnu Yacht Club and Saaremaa Marine Sports Society in cooperation with the Estonian Yachting Union.


The sponsors of the Moonsund Regatta are: A. Le Coq, Postimees/Eesti Meedia, Helly Hansen/Sportland, DSV, Dermoshop, LoodusInvest, OlyBet,, Mount Gay, Danske Bank, COCO Active, Rahva Raamat, EAS, Euro Oil, Go Bus, Auto Forte, Haven Kakumäe, Estonian Maritime Rescue Organization, the cities of Haapsalu, Pärnu and Kuressaare, Kihnu Municipality, the Port of Riga.


Regatta homepage: 
Regati Facebooki lehekülg
Postimees online live: 
GPS tracking 
News and galleries: Postimees - Muhu Väina regatt

Additional information:

Indrek Ilves
Regatta director
Phone: +372 505 2526

Renè Allik
Kalev Yacht Club
E-mail: renè
Phone: +372 523 3308

Raiko Lehtsalu
Pärnu Yacht Club
E-mail: Raiko.Lehtsalu@Yacht
Phone: +372 508 8493

Rain Riim
Saaremaa Marine Sports Society
Phone: +372 502 0942

Ott Kallas
Secretary General, Estonian Yachting Union
Phone: +372 564 3914

Piret Salmistu
Kalev Yacht Club
Regatta Communication Manager

Phone: +372 507 7217